A Dear John Letter to Wine

Dear Wine,

We’ve had some good times together, but I’ve made a decision…I’m sorry to do this, but we’re breaking up. It’s not you, it’s me. There are probably tons of women out there that you’re right for, but I’m not one of them.

Sure, you make me smile at first.

But then you make me sad.

Sometimes you make me cry.

You make me act like someone I’m not.

You have no respect for my friends and family.

You give me such a headache.

I’m just not myself around you.

You keep me from doing the things I love to do.

You hit me—hard.

And then the next day I’m the one that feels bad. I feel guilty. I feel regret. Yet somehow I forget your part in it. I blame myself. I forgive you. I think it’s because I didn’t treat you right. I conveniently forget everything you said and did. And then I go back for more.

I’ve tried to change for you. I’ve tried to be the kind of girl you want me to be—fun yet controllable. But that’s not me and we both know it. You get under my skin, you course through my veins, and then it’s all down hill from there. I try to hold my tongue. I try to behave properly. But I can’t help myself. You’re a bully that always takes over.

So maybe it’s NOT me after all. Maybe it IS you. You suck. And you’re never going to change, are you? You are what you are and you’ll never be good for me.

So thanks for all the good times. Yeah, there are tons of girls out there that are right for you but I’m not one of them. I’m quitting you and not looking back.

Besides, there’s a sexy Italian soda I have my eye on now.

Love always,

You Know Who

This entry was posted in Breaking Up, Depression, Friday, habit, Love, pain in the ass, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Dear John Letter to Wine

  1. Heather says:

    Muahhhh! Congrats. Alcohol was a fucker anyway.

Leave a Reply

