You Probably Think This Blog is About You

“Should I send you back a copy of the ‘Break-up Mix’ CD you made for me years back??”

That’s the email I received from my good and old friend Nicole Miale, after she followed my venting posts on Facebook for a few days. Ah, the Break-up Mix. It’s been around so long—many, many years. What started out as a short cassette of music to hate boys to matured into 12 CD tracks of angry girl singers and finally evolved into a 39-song playlist that has made its way back and forth between me and my girls all these years, and has been called by such names as the “Why He Sucks,” “You Should See the Other Guy,” “He’s Her Problem Now,” “What Was I Thinking,” and my favorite, “The Girl Power” playlist. I’m not even sure Nicole has the most current version.

Anyway, there was no break-up this week. Just a lot of misunderstanding, miscommunication, and, well, untruths. It wasn’t about a love relationship gone bad; it was about a friendship gone wrong. But this blog post isn’t about that. It’s about the music. Because Nicole’s email prompted me to unearth this piece of musical history.

Ladies, when a man does you wrong, don’t sit there and play maudlin songs about how you want him back, because in all likelihood, you don’t. You want to play songs by sassy, sarcastic and angry girls that deserve better and are hell bent on getting it. This blog is about finding inspiration when you least expect it, and boy, can you be inspired when you’re pissed off and spittin’ mad. Therefore, I present to you the “Girl Power” playlist. Download the songs for yourself. These songs are great to drive to, work out to, break stuff to.

And let me know your favorite songs so I can add them to the list—as you can see, they need to be by women or at least bands with female singers, and be fairly upbeat. The play order pretty much takes you through the first stages of pre-breakup—when you know things aren’t right and it’s going nowhere—through the threats, grief, anger, rebound boys, vindictiveness and on to the final stages of oh-so-happy-he’s-out-of-my-life. I already know it needs more Alanis and that Adele must be added, but I bet there are tons of great songs missing, and Nicole and I need to know them. So be sure to comment!

And for the last time, if you’re reading this, and you think this is about you, it’s not. So get over yourself. This list is comprised of many breakups, many boys and many besties, so just kick back and enjoy the fun.

1. Turn Me On by Vitamin C: “Are you gonna turn me on? Or are you gonna turn on me?”

2. Better Be Good to Me by Tina Turner: It’s Tina—what more is there to say? Snarl it, Tina! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyU7BbQSm98

“OH YOU BETTER BE GOOD TO ME

THAT`S HOW IT`S GOT TO BE NOW

CAUSE I DON`T HAVE THE TIME FOR YOUR OVER LOADED LINES

YES YOU BETTER BE GOOD TO ME

AND I REALLY DON`T SEE

WHY IT`S SO HARD TO BE

GOOD TO ME

AND I DON`T UNDERSTAND

WHAT`S YOUR PLAN?

THAT YOU CAN`T BE

GOOD TO ME”

3. I Hate Myself for Loving You by Joan Jett

4. Piece of My Heart by Janis Joplin

5. No More Words by Berlin

6. It’s Not Right But It’s Okay by Whitney Houston: Oh Whitney, you may be a drug addict, but you been WRONGED, girl!

“It’s not right

But it’s okay

I’m gonna make it anyway

Pack your bags up and leave

Don’t you dare come running back to me

It’s not right But it’s okay

I’m gonna make it anyway

Close the door behind you

Leave your key

I’d rather be alone Than unhappy”

7. Leave (Get Out) by JoJo: “You said that you would treat me right but you were just a waste of time.” Hell yeah!

8. Breakin’ Dishes by Rihanna:

“I’m super cool, I’ve been a fool

But now I’m hot and baby you’re gonna get it

Now I ain’t trippin’, I ain’t twisted

I ain’t demented, well just a little bit

I’m kicking ass, I’m taking names

I’m on a flame, don’t come home babe

I’m breakin’ dishes up in here All night (uh huh)

I ain’t gonna stop until I see police lights (uh huh)

I’m a fight a man (tonight)

9. Breakin’ Up by Rilo Kiley

10. Don’t Leave Me This Way by Thelma Houston

11. Give Me All Your Lovin Or I Will Kill You by Macy Gray:

OH, Macy, you so CRAZY!!!

“c’mon and gimme all your lovin’ or I will kill you put one through your head gimme all your lovin’ or I will kill you and cry when you’re dead”

12. Heartbreaker by Pat Benatar

13. Goodbye to You by Patty Smythe

14. Goodbye to You by Michelle Branch

15. Survivor by Destiny’s Child:

“Now that you are out of my life, I’m so much better,

You thought that I’d be weak without ya, But I’m stronger,

You thought that I’d be broke without ya, But I’m richer,

You thought that I’d be sad without ya, I laugh harder,

You thought I wouldn’t grow without ya, Now I’m wiser,

You thought that I’d be helpless without ya, But I’m smarter,

You thought that I’d be stressed without ya, But I’m chillin’”

18. Not Big by Lily Allen:

“Now listen I think you and me have come to the end of our time,

What’d you want some kind of reaction? Well, Okay, that’s fine,

Alright, how would it make you feel if I said that you never ever made me cum?

In the year and a half that we spent together, Yeah, I never really had much fun.”

19. Are You Happy Now? By Michelle Branch

20. Let ‘Er Rip by Dixie Chicks:

Y’know when the boy thinks he’s breaking your heart and makes a big production of the whole thing? Yeah, the Chicks know it, too!

“Let ‘er rip, let it fly Come on baby, say it, do you think I’m gonna cry

I ain’t about to bawl, and I ain’t gonna die

So if you’re gonna say goodbye, don’t take all day and night

Let ‘er rip, let it fly”

21. I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor:  The original, the classic, everyone on the dance floor!

22. I’m Every Woman by Chaka Khan

23. RESPECT by Aretha Franklin

24. Bitch by Meredith Brooks

25. You Oughtta Know by Alanis Morissette

26. Gives You Hell (original by the All-American Rejects) as sung by Glee cast:

“Truth be told I miss you

Truth be told I’m lying

When you see my face I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell

When you walk my way I hope it gives you hell, I hope it gives you hell”

27. Fighter by Christina Aguilera:

“’Cause it

Makes me that much stronger

Makes me work a little bit harder

Makes me that much wiser

So thanks for making me a fighter

Made me learn a little bit faster

Made my skin a little bit thicker

Makes me that much smarter

So thanks for making me a fighter”

28. My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It) by En Vogue

29. Smile by Lily Allen

30. It’s Raining Men by The Weather Girls

31. Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It) by Beyonce

32. It’s My Life by No Doubt

33. Feel It Coming by Sara Melson

34. I Don’t Need a Man by The Pussycat Dolls:

“I don’t need a man to make it happen

I get off being free

I don’t need a man to make me feel good

I get off doing my thing

I don’t need a ring around my finger

To make me feel complete

So let me break it down

I can get off when you ain’t around Oh!”

35. Since U Been Gone by Kelly Clarkson

36. Single by Natasha Bedingfield

37. Shame for You by Lily Allen

38. Merry Happy by Kate Nash

39. Are You Fucking Kidding Me (Live) by Kate Miller Heidke :

If you don’t know this song, watch it on YouTube—the tone and inflection make the whole thing!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7MuwPlOiNQ

Here’s a preview if you don’t click through right now:

“All the memories are coming back to me now

All the ways you stole the light from my eyes

I traveled so far just to get away from you,

‘Till this morning’s friend request surprise

At times it really felt as though I’d never smile again

You narcissistic asshole, oh, you nasty, nasty man

And now You want to be my friend on Facebook

Are you fucking kidding?

I don’t want to know

What kind of cocktail you are,

Or which member of the Beatles

Or which 1950’s movie star

I don’t give a toss

If you’re a ninja or a pirate

I suspect you’d be a pirate,

But I don’t want to verify it

And I don’t give a shit

What your stripper name is

Or if your kitty had a litter

Look, just follow me on Twitter,

I don’t care about your family tree

And I certainly don’t want you poking me!”

It’s the absolute perfect song to end The Breakup/GirlPower Mix for sure!

Note: No boys were harmed in the making of this playlist.

Second note: This post is dedicated to Nicole Miale, a co-creator of the list and the person most likely to mirror my love-life craziness at any given time!

This entry was posted in Boys, Breaking Up, Dating, Lyrics, Music, Single Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Probably Think This Blog is About You

  1. amberherself says:

    I love the Rilo Kiley song, the chorus is so fun to sing along to it would definitely make a woman feel happy.

Leave a Reply

