Why I’m a slacker…

I haven’t posted a new blog in more than a week, and I am feeling terribly guilty about it. My original goal had been a new post every day, Monday through Friday, and now I haven’t written anything new since the day before Thanksgiving.

The funny thing is, I made it all the way through November, posting new entries on a regular basis, even while my office workload exploded and I plodded away on my NaNo novel! Then, I was done with my novel draft (sorta), and suddenly I couldn’t get myself to open up WordPress to post something new.

I am a bad, bad blogger.

I’m not the first person to find that the more they have to do, the more they get done. I think I’ve finally figured out the reason behind my creative slump in the first half of 2010–I didn’t have any planned projects on my plate so I had no reason to get my fingers moving in the morning.

However, during my break from the blog, I’ve thought more about what I want the blog to be, and I think that means fewer but more meatier posts. I really want to do some journalistic-type reporting here so that I can generate more feature articles while continuing to entertain and delight you (humor me here, please) with my personal dramas and sagas. I know; you can’t wait.

Luckily, my writing plate is full, which means I’ll work myself into the creative frenzy where I don’t overthink, I just write; I now have two NaNo novels to edit and whip into shape before hunting for an agent, I have some article queries I need to get out to editors, I have more writing than I can handle at work, and I have some other non-writing projects I need to continue and/or launch.

But don’t worry (seriously, I can see your brow furrowing; I know you spend an awful lot of time worrying about what Patricia is going to do next–why wouldn’t you?), this doesn’t mean the same barrage of writing-related posts that you endured during November. Oh, I’ll still talk about my projects and my epiphanies (deep, I know) but now that NaNoWriMo is over I will definitely be getting back to other things that inspire me just as much. That means a whole month of holiday-related posts (no, not really), because nothing is as fascinating or cathartic as the Christmas season, right?

Now, I realize that this post was neither funny, educational or thought-provoking; I just wanted to touch base with you and let you know that My Accidental Muse is still alive and well and will be back in a day or two. Please don’t forget me and please come back to read!

This entry was posted in "Me" time, Creativity, Excuses, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m a slacker…

  1. Tommy says:

    I eagerly await entertainment and delight.

  2. Erin says:

    I’m happy to see a post from you and happy to hear that you’ll continue blogging! As a fellow writer, I love your posts about writing and hope you continue with some of those. However, since I love your style so much, I’ll read about anything: writing, things that inspire you, Christmas, feature articles, personal sagas, or what you ate for breakfast. (Okay, maybe not that last one. But there ARE people who blog about that, right??)

    Congrats on your NaNo win! Best of luck with all of your projects, writing and otherwise!

Leave a Reply

