Christmas Music in July?

I love Christmas music.

My collection is stellar—Brian Setzer Orchestra, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, The Reverend Horton Heat, Sinatra, Harry Connick, Jr., Michael Buble, Aretha, Dean Martin, tons of others, including, sometime in the next few days, the Glee cast Christmas album.

In fact, one of my two favorite pieces of music of all time is a Christmas carol (“O Holy Night”).

I have a hard and fast rule—Christmas music cannot be played before noon on Thanksgiving, when the Macy’s parade ends and Santa has cruised  into Herald Square to announce the holiday season.

So, I was a little disappointed when the day BEFORE Halloween one of the stores was already playing “We Wish You a Merry Christmas.”

I’m not trying to be difficult. I’m also not being terribly original since every year at this time we see tons of blog posts, editorials, letters-to-the-editor, and general conversation about how Christmas starts earlier every year. I know it’s the complaint du jour at this time of year, but I’m bringing it up anyway just to say I try to keep some things special; if I can’t believe in Santa Claus anymore, I want to at least be able to excitedly await the arrival of “Santa Baby.”

This is also the reason that, although you can get a Peppermint Mocha Latte at Starbucks all year long (minus the festive red sugar crystals on top), I won’t order one, despite how much I love that magical mixtue of flavors, until the holiday push begins.

It did bother me for a number of years that I could buy Christmas ornaments before I was able to pick up half-priced Halloween candy, but I’ve realized that it’s not all that bad to spend almost two months immersed in pine branches, tinsel, red velvet and blinking lights. There are worse things I could endure on a daily basis than snowmen, angels, and elves.

So I guess I’ll embrace the lengthening holiday season and try to make the most of the extended good feelings rather than push back.

But I’m going to stick with my Christmas music rule–I just can’t listen before Thanksgiving Day. I like anticipating that first song of the season. So this year on the drive to my parents’ house for turkey, just like every year, I rocked out to Soundgarden, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Metallica (while drinking a peppermint mocha latte), but I’m all set for Thursday—144 Christmas songs on the best iPod playlist ever.

(Coming soon: how to make an awesome Christmas playlist!)

This entry was posted in Christmas, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Music in July?

  1. Steph says:

    I went to my local Barnes and Noble this morning and the Christmas music was playing. I completely agree with you about the music. Although I would much prefer to see NO Christmassy items / decorations out before Thanksgiving, I know that it is losing battle. However, to have this stuff out before Halloween? Not cool in my book.
    I’m slowly getting to the point that by the time Christmas rolls around, I’m in a bah-hum-buggy mood from being overwhelmed and overstimulated with all the Christmas hubbub.
    It has become my least favorite holiday.

    Steph

  2. bradylife says:

    I must admit- I love Christmas music, and can be caught whistling it year round. And, if I could afford it, I would dive into all of the Christmas displays and buy tons of new stuff every year. But, I can’t. So, instead of getting grumpy at the more and more early scenery, I try to just use it as inspiration for when I do get to decorate. That day, by the way, will probably be Monday as soon as I get home from work!

  3. Grumble Girl says:

    My birthday is November 24th, and I don’t want to see or hear ONE THING Christmas before then – not a single one, thanks!! But when it IS holiday time, I love jazz especially – from Oscar Peterson to Ella, to Harry Connick Jr… I don’t listen to classical much these days, but that’s just me – but I know and appreciate why others love it so much. I’m all about the Christmas jazz…

Leave a Reply

