Why I Do What I Can’t

If someone asked me if I can sing, I’d say, “Of course, doesn’t everyone?”

If someone asked me if I could draw I’d say, “Yes, can’t you?”

If someone asked if I could dance, I’d say, “Yes, I love to dance.”

To be honest, you don’t want to hear me sing; you might not be able to decipher my drawing; and you may want to shield your eyes from my dancing.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t do it.

If I like to do something, I can still do it without doing it well.

I should just have the smarts to not expect to get paid to do it as well as the courtesy to not force you to watch it in public.

I think writing is a great equalizer in this way mostly because anyone can toil away for years on their epic and “be writing” without having to expose it to the outside world.

We’re taught that writers need to be published. That’s not true; they just need to write.

This month, thousands of writers around the world are writing novels for National Novel Writing Month, the great majority of which will never see the light of day after November 30. But they will still be NaNo winners, because they wrote their books for themselves.

If we enjoy doing something, how do we define it as successful? When is it okay to say you’re writer? For the NaNo writers, success is reaching the finish line–a 50,000 word story written by November 30.

Come on, now; you may not make your living as a writer but you know you have a story you want to tell. You have 30 days to do it, and no one ever has to read it. It doesn’t even have to be good!

Sign up for NaNo at www.nanowrimo.org.

This entry was posted in Creativity, inspiration, NaNoWriMo, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Do What I Can’t

  1. Erin says:

    Good points. I always say that I want to be a writer, but everyone once in a while someone stops and reminds me that I already AM a writer! It’s a good thing to keep in mind.

    Hope day 1 went well…best wishes on day 2!

Leave a Reply

