Because what the world needs is another blog…

I am not the Accidental Muse.

I’d like to believe that somewhere along the line I’ve inspired a couple of people to do something creative, but that isn’t really what this blog’s name is about.

In fact, I couldn’t even inspire myself to start this blog for months and months, despite New Year’s resolutions and lots of shoulda coulda woulda.

For the last year or so, the writer in me went underground. It seems like the thrill of knocking out a 50,000-word novel for National Novel Writing Month last November sucked me dry. It wasn’t that I didn’t have fresh ideas—I have notebooks full of novel plots, feature article research, blog topics, and embarrassingly personal essays.

The problem was in the execution. I just didn’t want to; I preferred to watch “Glee” reruns or read the backlog of 500 books on my Kindle or do just about anything else rather than type words on the screen.

I did find my Muse (I call her Lola) in the strangest of places, but that’s another story for another blog.

Today’s story is about why this blog, why this name, why now.

The thing is, when I get inspired, I fall into it ass-backwards.

Always.

I will be out in public somewhere without pen, paper, laptop or even cell phone. I will be in the shower, soaking wet, so that by the time I dry off I’ve forgotten the brilliant idea. I will be in the middle of the workday writing a technical product press release when there’s no time to take a break and do personal writing.

And inspiration will come from the oddest of places, too. The Dale Chihuly ceiling at the Bellagio in Las Vegas (the image on this page, actually). Four-year-old Lydia’s overly poofy tutu and gigantic hairbow. The blinking blue eyes of another friend’s Siamese kitten. First I’m visually startled and then my brain starts linking the image to words and by the time it’s all done, the written ode probably doesn’t even mention the original inspiration.

But then there are the times when I earnestly try to write. I want to start a novel; I want to pitch an article to a high-end food magazine; I want to write a short story about the short-lived love affair.

I twist and turn for ages and never strike a key. I know those stories will be told, when I least expect it, of course, but my brain is not ready at that moment.

So that’s why this blog, now. This morning I was driving to work, one hand on the steering wheel, the other cradling the travel mug, and I thought back to a recent incident at work I just had to talk about. Before I knew it, the first blog entry had written itself in my head. I raced the other commuters so I could get to my laptop and get it all down before I forgot the good stuff (that post will appear soon). By the time I DID get to work, the blog had a name and a purpose (the design and layout are still lacking but it will get there in time).

I’m not the Accidental Muse, but a million little things I come across every day are. And those are the things I want to write about, random as they might be, in hopes that you will find an idea that interests you or at least get a laugh or two at my expense. I hope you’ll share what inspires you with me.

This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Because what the world needs is another blog…

  1. Steph says:

    Wonderful!

    Everyday experiences always get me thinking… huh, I wonder what motivated that? And off I go into character backstory.

    And the more we learn about others and how they’re inspired, the more I find myself being inspired. Sort of like an upward circle of inspiration. 🙂

  2. shea says:

    it’s about time! love the first post & looking forward to the rest. (& glad to know i wasn’t the only one not invited to your birthday party! just kidding… ) 😉

  3. bradylife says:

    So happy to see that you are getting it down on paper… or screen! Congrats! Now, I am just waiting on the work story! 🙂

  4. Cris G. says:

    Well written, inspiring and wonderful. Three cheers!

  5. Hi (not) Accidental Muse, you are a beautiful writer – you should publish your work more often! I too am bewildered by how random our creativity can be, and how to capture it and turn it into a digestible product. I recently wrote a post “To Catch an Insight” that touches on some of these things. I used the analogy of thoughts as bugs, and every now and then a good one comes by – so we have to make sure to have our net out at all times!

  6. Oh wow, first blog post and it was posted today! I feel special – I hope this is the start of something really great!

  7. Suzanne says:

    I just read the comment you posted on Coppyblogger and couldn’t resist stopping by to check out your new blog. Congratulations! And thank you for the inspiration – one more nudge in the direction of finally launching the blog that I’ve been nurturing in my head and in my heart for WAY too long. You may, indeed turn out to be my accidental muse! 😉

    • Suzann,

      That’s great to hear! I tweeted that I thought I might have just become a blogger, and someone tweeted back “Better late than never.” And I thought, Exactly! But I tweeted back, “Hey, I’ve been busy!”

  8. Grumble Girl says:

    Dude. I’m SO HAPPY to see you here!! Go ahead, girlfriend… xox

  9. Welcome to bloggyville sweetie – You’re off to a wonderful start – I wish you thousands and thousands of inciteful posts and tons of bloggy friends with whom to share!

  10. Heather says:

    Everything you do is great…..whether it is this blog, your new wall art, your garbage disposal repairs or being a sweet and loving “Aunt by Proxy” to my girls. I am excited for you and happy that not only are you expressing yourself in such a natural way for you but allowing the rest of us to enjoy it as well. Kisses my bestie. Love the blog and you!

    • Heather!!!!! You’re READING!!!!!! I’m so proud. My work here is done.

      LOL. Actually I think I may be proudest of fixing the disposal, especially after I almost started to cry when it backed up and then made the whir-of-death whimper…

  11. judy says:

    Nicely done! I love this!

Leave a Reply

